Jump to content

Leadership team

Our board, senior leaders and 160-strong team are committed to our customers and our community.

Our board

  • Bella Takiari-Brame


    Bella is a chartered accountant and has worked in the oil, gas and utilities industries. She has a wealth of global market understanding and governance expertise.

    She is currently a member of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Council, an independent member of the Group Audit and Risk Committee of Waikato Tainui, a trustee of the Māniapoto Māori Trust Board, Māngai Māori representative for the finance committee of the Hamilton City Council and is a current Director of Te Ohu Kai Moana Trustee Limited including Chair of Audit and Risk Committee and Director on Te Ohu’s Portfolio Management Services Limited.

  • Andrew Johnson

    Andrew is the founder and Managing Director of LondonGreen which owns and invests in technology based companies. He holds a number of external governance roles.

    A chartered member of the Institute of Directors, Andrew holds a Bachelor of Electronic Commerce from the University of Waikato and has studied strategy and leadership at Harvard University.

  • Craig Richardson

    Craig is an internationally experienced CEO, CFO and non-executive director across the infrastructure, technology, manufacturing and FMCG sectors.

    Currently a partner at professional advisory board firm Faraday, Craig advises a number of small and mid-market enterprises. He is a director of the Institute of Minerals to Materials Research and has previously been a non-executive director of private and listed companies, crown entities and was President of CPA Australia in NZ.

  • Mike Underhill

    Mike (Ngāti Raukawa) lives between Wellington and Otaki. He has a wealth of electricity industry experience gained over a career spanning more than three decades. He is currently a director on two other lines company boards: Network Waitaki (Oamaru) and Electra (Kapiti and Horowhenua) and has also recently been appointed to the board of Wellington Water Ltd.

    Between 2007 and 2016 Mike was also the chief executive of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA), a government organisation tasked with promoting energy efficiency and renewables. Prior to that, Mike was chief executive of WEL Networks, which owns the electricity networks for Hamilton and Northern Waikato.

  • Doug Troon

    Doug has 35 years’ experience consulting experience, starting with Duffill Watts & King Ltd as a civil engineer in Dunedin, later becoming chief executive of the firm, which was acquired by Downer Consulting Pty Ltd.

    He is currently chairman of surveying, engineering and planning firm Cheal Consultants, which operates in the King Country and Central North Island. He also chairs Skellerns Metal Castings, which produced the Sir Colin Meads statue in Te Kuiti; as well as Doubtless Bay Water Supply Co, among other chair and director positions. Doug is also a past director of two lines companies: Counties Power Ltd and Top Energy Ltd.

  • Chelsea Smith

    Future Director

    Chelsea has spent the last 10 years operating and managing dairy farms in Waikato and Canterbury. She has recently stepped outside the farm gate and is the South Island sales consultant for Liberty Genetics. In addition, she co-chaired 2021 Dairy Women’s Network conferences, is a Regional Leader for north Canterbury Dairy Women’s Network, and she has recently completed her Kellogg Rural Leadership programme cohort 42.  Chelsea joined TLC in 2020 as a Future Director, and is being mentored through the Institute of Directors (IoD) Future Directors programme where she’s gaining first-hand experience operating at board level.

Our managers

  • Sean Horgan

    Chief Executive

    Sean has extensive and successful business development, strategic management and operational leadership experience within the New Zealand and international energy sectors.

    As well as Chief Executive, he is an industry representative on the Utilities Disputes Energy Complaints Scheme Advisory Committee, a director of our subsidiary Speedys Road Hydro Ltd and a foundation trustee of the Maru Energy Efficiency Trust.


  • Mike Fox

    GM — Network

    Mike has worked in the electricity industry for 15 years, bringing an extensive background in asset management, planning, engineering and strategic direction to the team.

    He is responsible for the short and long-term management of our network assets and is passionate about making sure customers have a safe, reliable, electricity supply.

  • Jo Ireland

    GM — Customer Service & Communications

    Jo’s senior management experience in the banking, health and local government sectors. She’s led teams, often through change and challenging times, to successfully deliver work programmes. Previous portfolios include communications, customer service, strategy, economic development and iwi liaison.

    She is passionate about strong customer and stakeholder relationships and open and transparent communication.

  • Sue Lomas

    GM — People & Safety

    Sue’s management experience in human resources and safety management spans the chemical, manufacturing and consulting industries both in the UK and in New Zealand.

    She leads people-related activities in the business, providing strategic direction, tactical and operational support and advice, and is responsible for leading the strategy for developing a high-performing company culture.

  • Audrey Scheurich

    GM — Finance

    Audrey brings more than 20 years’ experience in senior financial roles, as well as significant commercial experience in the infrastructure sector to our team.

    She is responsible for providing financial and commercial support to the business to ensure strong financial management.

  • Mike Ullrich

    Chief Executive - Influx

    Mike is a successful business leader with more than 20 years’ senior management experience. He’s been involved in a number of New Zealand’s fastest growing tech companies delivering consumer and industrial products globally addressing payments, agricultural, consumer, marine and automotive markets.

    Mike is responsible for the growth, development and strategic direction of Influx Energy Data Limited, our wholly-owned metering and data services company.